The National Turkey Federation (NTF) today announced the election of its 2019 officers and Executive Committee following the federation’s Annual Convention in San Antonio, Texas.

Kerry Doughty, former chief executive officer of Butterball, LLC, was elected 2019 NTF chairman. Ron Kardel of West Liberty Foods, L.L.C. will serve as vice chairman and Phil Seger of Farbest Foods, Inc. as secretary-treasurer. Jeff Sveen of Dakota Provisions will stay on as immediate past chairman.

NTF 2019 Officer Team (L to R): Phil Seger, Kerry Doughty, Jeff Sveen, Ron Kardel

“Over the years, the most consistent thing I have seen is change,” said Kerry Doughty, 2019 NTF chairman. “As NTF chairman, my goal is to ensure that the federation and the turkey industry are prepared to change and grow to meet today’s demands. Solving some of the hardest problems facing the industry and taking advantage of market opportunities will require one thing: Teamwork. I know that the turkey industry – farmers, processors and our partners – are passionate about what they do, and I am honored to lead NTF in 2019. I look forward to a successful, prosperous and profitable year for the industry.”

“Kerry is one of the most respected voices in the turkey industry, and he brings with him a true dedication to the men and women of our industry,” said Joel Brandenberger, NTF president. “I know Kerry’s experience and leadership will be extremely beneficial as NTF continues our work to advocate on behalf of America’s turkey farmers and processors and grow demand for turkey on menus, dinner plates and in grocery carts worldwide.”

Doughty has been involved in the food industry for more than 45 years, the past 10 with Butterball, LLC.  Doughty joined Butterball as executive vice president of sales, marketing, and research and development in 2007 after a lengthy career in foodservice sales and branding. He was named president and CEO in 2014 and was responsible for developing forward-thinking business strategies, including the launch of the company’s first “no antibiotics ever” and organic product lines and the creation of Butterball’s Animal Care and Well-Being program. Last year, Doughty was awarded the 2018 Poultry Person of the Year by Urner Barry. He has served as a member of NTF’s Executive Committee since 2014. Doughty and his wife, Jan, reside in North Carolina.

NTF’s Board of Directors also elected the following Executive Committee members: Mickey Baugher of Plainville Farms, Jay Jandrain of Butterball, LLC, Dave Libertini of Hybrid Turkeys, Steve Lykken of Jennie-O Turkey Store, John Niemann of Cargill Protein, Ronnie Parker of Circle S Ranch, Bob Reinhard of Tyson Foods, Andy Urban of Perdue Farms Inc. and John Zimmerman of P&J Products Co. The elected members then appointed Rick VanderSpek of Turkey Valley Farms and Carl Wittenburg of Protein Alliance, Inc. as at-large members of the Executive Committee.

The National Turkey Federation is the national advocate for America’s turkey farmers and producers, raising awareness for its members’ products while strengthening their ability to profitably and safely deliver wholesome, high-quality and nutritious food to consumers worldwide.