Washington, D.C. – The National Turkey Federation (NTF) announced the 2024 officer team and Executive Committee members recently elected by the Board of Directors at the 2024 NTF Annual Convention in Austin, Texas.

John Zimmerman of P&J Products, Co. was elected 2024 NTF chairman. Jay Jandrain of Butterball, LLC. will serve as vice chairman and Thierry Murad of AJC International, Inc., as secretary-treasurer. Steve Lykken, representing Jennie-O Turkey Store, will move into the role of immediate past chairman.

“As a second-generation turkey farmer, I know first-hand how important the work of the National Turkey Federation is to our industry, and I am honored to serve as NTF Chairman,” said Zimmerman, 2024 NTF Chairman. “While we have plenty of work ahead, I am confident we will be able to progress. Among some of the key focus areas on the agenda for this year include maintaining the industry’s strong response to animal disease challenges, working with government agencies to ensure that food safety policies are based on science-driven principles, expanding international trade opportunities and serving as the voice of the turkey industry in Washington. I am grateful for this opportunity to represent the turkey industry and help find solutions for the critical tasks ahead.”

John Zimmerman is a 35-year veteran of the turkey industry and owner of P&J Products. Zimmerman, a second-generation Minnesota turkey farmer, raises turkey, corn and soybeans on his family farm near Northfield, Minnesota. He graduated from Iowa State University with a Bachelor of Science degree in animal science. He is also a graduate of the Minnesota Agricultural Rural Leadership Program (MARL) and spent several years serving on the Board of Directors of MARL. In addition, he is currently board chairman of River Country Co-op and previously served as president of the Minnesota Turkey Growers Association and Minnesota Turkey Research and Promotion Council. He and his wife, Kara, reside in Northfield with their son, Grant.

Joining Zimmerman, Jandrain, Murad and Lykken on the 2024 Executive Committee will be: Russ Dierenfield of Tyson Foods, Leon Fletcher of Cargill, Inc., Doug Johnson of Perdue Farms, Inc., John King of Virginia Poultry Growers Cooperative, Dr. Michelle Kromm of Food Forward, LLC., Ronnie Parker of Circle S Ranch, Christy Puffenbarger of Aviagen Turkeys, Jeff Segars of Foster Farms, Phil Seger of Farbest Farms, Inc., Dr. Owen Willems of Hybrid Turkeys and Jordan Woodbury of Dakota Provisions.

2024 NTF Officers (left to right): Jandrain, Zimmerman, Lykken and Murad

About the National Turkey Federation

The National Turkey Federation (NTF) is the national advocate for America’s turkey farmers and producers, raising awareness for its members’ products while strengthening their ability to profitably and safely deliver wholesome, high-quality and nutritious food to consumers worldwide. NTF is the sole national trade association exclusively representing the turkey industry; its members account for more than 95 percent of all U.S. turkey production.